2016 is the year I…

Earlier this year I had a good friend encourage me to pick a word for the year. A single word to capture what your focus for the year would be. At first it felt daunting. How do you pick one word to describe a whole year?

After a few weeks of contemplating (it is never too late to set a word for the year, right?), I felt like God was saying the word for 2016 was surrender. To surrender my plans, desires, hopes and idea of what the year was going to look like and trust Him. It sounded scary, but looking the definition up confirmed that it is the perfect word for this year.

Surrender (verb): to agree to stop fighting, hiding, resisting, etc., because you know that you will not win or succeed

In 2016 I surrender. I agree to stop fighting, hiding, or resisting what comes and be open to whatever the year has in store. I trust that no matter what it will be beautiful and so worth the journey!

2 thoughts on “2016 is the year I…

  1. As I enter my 14th week post-surgery, I am struggling more than I care to admit. I’m transferring my PT care to a new provider next week due to slow progress and concerns about some aspects to the care. Nobody has worked on my mobility so my foot is extremely stiff and not happy with the weight I am now asking it to bear. Given my increased struggle with everything…the pain, the loss, the uncertainty, I decided to check out your blog again and was happy to see a few new posts. I really appreciate you sharing your inner experiences. Your word for the year, surrender, really highlighted my current struggle and the fact that it is not working. I hope to follow in your footsteps and increase my openness to what this year has to offer, with the agreement to stop hiding and resisting what comes. Thanks so much.

    • Hi Katie! I am so sorry to hear about your slow progress and concerns about your care. I am glad that you are taking it into your hands and seeking out what you need. I think sometimes that is the hardest part of the recovery, being honest with ourselves when something isn’t working and having the courage to adjust as needed. No one knows your body better than you! I am glad that we can partner in this journey together! Sending fast healing thoughts and increased progress your way!

Leave a Reply

