Humbled

This is a season for me of humbling. I am learning humility in more ways than I thought possible. It is uncomfortable, but so important at the same time.

I am daily humbled by having to ask for help, in learning to accept help, and in being grateful for people’s attempts to help. I am working on communicating where I am and the uncertainty of the future and being okay with that, despite how unknown and scary it feels. I have tipped over on a knee scooter, climbed groceries up stairs, and elevated my leg in all sorts of not so appropriate ways in public. And, lest I forget, my impressive newfound ability to take down displays in grocery stores while riding the electric carts (which, might I add, move at an incredibly pedestrian pace).

For someone who likes to fly under the radar, I am an attention magnet. Despite my attempts to not stand out, crutches seem to scream “look at me” and apparently demand that you “tell me your story about that time you were on crutches“ (or your brother’s, parent’s, or great aunt second removed’s stories). Most days I wish I could go unnoticed, but unfortunately that doesn’t seem to be an option. Maybe if I died my hair bright purple people would be so distracted by that they would miss the crutches. 😉

But since bright purple hair dying isn’t in the cards for the imminent future, humility it is! I know one day I will look back fondly at all the ways I was humbled during this time and consider myself blessed.

Leave a comment