3 weeks Post-Op

Today marks 3 weeks post-op. It feels like it has been an eternity, but at the same time, has flown by. Hopefully time starts to fly faster so I will be back on my feet soon. But until then, I will share my reflections along the way…

IMG_3570
-single leg ninja balancing abilities come out of no where
-packing becomes a lot easier when you can only wear shorts, dresses, or skirts over the boot and only need the right shoe
-calf muscles shrink at an alarming rate…I could get my whole hand down the cast after 2 weeks
IMG_3582-crutches mean a backpack is your new best friend so you can carry things
-you have an excuse to get out of household chores
-everything takes exponentially longer (but may actually provide a valid excuse for being late)
-the knee scooter is a life safer (when inside, otherwise it is a health hazard)
-people go out of their way to help you. unless you are in a grocery store, then hunger rages and you get death stares until you move. 😉
-sometimes all you can to do is laugh and make fun of yourself

4 thoughts on “3 weeks Post-Op

  1. I was in a hot pink cast about this time last year. Around April or May of last year, I had this pain radiating around the arch of my foot; often the pain worsened with activity and improved with rest. In January of 2014 I started a Cross-Fit class as way of getting and staying shape. I just thought that this may be related to increase and rigorous training and just tried to ignore it. As the pain was getting to nag me, I decided it was time check with a sports medicine ortho. At my first visit she took x-rays and nothing was visible. She advised that I rest and stay off any major training for couple of weeks and to see. After laying low for couple of weeks, I started training again and the pain returned. This time I made another appointment and visited. She advised me that I should schedule to do get a MRI to see what was going on with my foot. A day or so later after the test, the ortho office called me and said that the results have come in and that the doc would like to schedule an appointment as soon as possible. I knew that something was not right….but never thought that I would have to have a cast. When I met with the doc she showed me the MRI images and broke the devastating news- a “Navicular stress fracture” And the treatment was a placing the leg in a non–weight-bearing cast for 6-8 weeks. I was in shock… When the ortho tech asked what color cast I want I could not even think…I just went with first color she mentioned…which was plain white. After fitting me with crutches, and showing me how to walk, she handed me my left Teva sports sandal and said: “well you won’t be needing this for a while….” That’s when I realized that I will be on one leg and wearing one shoe for some time. For the first time after the cast was fitted, and I crutched my way out of the ortho’s office holding one sandal in my had just felt wired. At my 4 week appointment with my ortho the cast was sawn off the doc examined the foot. The first time your leg and foot appears from under the cast it looks gross and wired. I begged and pleaded her to put me in a CAM boot…but she heard none of it. And was sporting a bright pink cast. My first one was white. The ortho tech also fitted me with an open toe cast sandal. Although I got a cast sandal, I was warned by the doc that I am strictly non-weight bearing on crutches. BTW I did not get a cast sandal when I first got my cast. When I asked the ortho tech why she mentioned that I needed to be stickly non-weight bearing on my left foot and sometime a cast sandal may tempt you place weight on the foot. While hobbling on crutches is a pain, and not having both your hands is free is an issue, the fact that your toes are exposed and peeking out of the cast is an issue when you have to wear just one shoe with a heal to work.

    Good Luck healing …..and love your pedicure

Leave a Reply

