The Art of Resting

Resting has never been one of my strong suits. I have fallen prey to the idea that time is only well spent if something productive occurs. My version of resting is sitting down and accomplishing something.

As I mentioned in my last blog, I am working to come out of a bit of a funk. One of the strategies my coach and I came up with was that I would try resting for an hour every day. For those of you that enjoy resting, you would probably love to have someone tell you to rest for an hour a day. But to me, this felt like a prison sentence. What about all those things on my to do list that I could get done?

Admittedly, the first few days of “resting,” I sucked. I would spend an hour laying in the dark thinking of all the things that needed to be done or strategizing about what I would do when I got up. I would lie there waiting for my alarm to go off so that I could get back to life. After about 3 days of this, I realized I wasn’t getting anywhere by spending an hour dwelling on everything I needed to get done. I succumbed to the hour of rest and am trying to embrace it.

While I would in no way say I have mastered resting, over the last month, I am slowly getting better. There are still those days where my mind is running a mile a minute about everything I “need” to do, but they are becoming fewer and farther between. There have even been a few victorious days where I actually fell asleep….shocker! Now, whenever I think about resting, I hear Erin Taylor’s voice. It reminds me of what she often says in her yoga classes…that the hour I spend resting is equally as important and productive as anything else I do with my day.

3 thoughts on “The Art of Resting

  1. Pingback: Oxy HP Viewing Party (of one) and Recent Progress | Base Mileage

Leave a Reply

