Funk Town

Lately I have been in a bit of a funk. Overall life is going well—I love Bend, my community here, and my teammates. I am enjoying and celebrating every day of healthy running and the small victories that accompany an injury comeback. But, in the last few weeks, as Lauren would say, I haven’t been “looking as poppy or springy in workouts.”

IMG_1577

Welcome to Funk Town. The first few reps of a workout go well and then my legs feel like they are filled with lead. At that point, the doubts flood in. I go from my legs feeling heavy to a comeback feeling seemingly impossible all over the course of 50 meters. And to make matters worse, I try to press reset before the next interval only to experience the same thing all over again. I finish workouts and chalk it up to a bad day, believing that the next workout will be better and hoping that I can just run through the funk.

I’ve found that being in a funk presents an interesting dichotomy. On one hand, if I recognize and believe that I am in a funk, then I will probably notice it more. Alternatively, if I try to pretend I am not in a funk, I won’t be able to extend myself the grace needed to get through it. I also may not do the little things that can help me get to the other side. So I wrestle…how do I acknowledge it enough to take the appropriate steps and make changes to get through it without experiencing it more than I need to?

IMG_2785

I am still working on figuring that out, but here’s what I have learned so far:

  • Be honest with your coaches and support team. No one wins if you struggle through something in silence.
  • Be open to making changes and shifting your weekly plan around. Maybe adjusting your daily mileage the days before workouts or reducing your rehab exercises a little can help recharge your batteries.
  • Rest is important, especially for the go-getter type personalities who tend to see rest as unproductive (like me).
  • Treat every day as a new day. Just because yesterday was rough, doesn’t necessarily mean today is going to be too.
  • Don’t allow yourself to get discouraged and believe that you will make it through.

With my first outdoor track race in almost 2 years on the horizon (3 days to be exact), the thought of racing becomes a bit more daunting. But then I remember that I can’t overcomplicate things. All I have to do is lace up my spikes, run around in circles and rip the racing Band-Aid off. It can only go upwards from here as the funk fades away and I get my racing legs back under me. Fly on!

IMG_1385

3 thoughts on “Funk Town

  1. Pingback: Good advice from A Catalyst For Growth…. |

  2. Pingback: The Art of Resting | A Catalyst For Growth

  3. great post Christine and something I can relate too. I recently pulled myself out of a “funk” that I thought would never end. It slowly chipped away at my self confidence as an athlete.And the more i thought about it, the more I overthought what was going on with me. It was a terrible cycle. I think you are right on when you describe it as a “dichotomy”. I like your tips on working your way through it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

