Almond Poppyseed Muffins

Almond Poppyseed Muffins have always been my favorite muffin. Growing up my mom would always make the Krusteaz boxed mix until one day, our grocery stores stopped carrying it. How could they….it was my favorite muffin! For years I went without it until one day in college I found the boxed mix in Seattle. After that discovery and many purchased boxes of it, I decided to try to conquer making it on my own. The boxed mix was so good that I figured it couldn’t be too hard, but boy was I wrong! After over 2 years of sub-par muffins and much defeat, I finally tried and altered a recipe until it was just perfect. I have made it 3 times this week and they still aren’t old. The secret is the almond paste…it gives it the delightfully almond taste that can not be achieved with almond extract alone. I dare you to try them, you will be glad you did!

photo-17Almond Poppyseed Muffins
~1/2 cup sugar
~1 egg
~1/4 cup milk
~1/2 cup sour cream
~1/3 cup oil
~2 tsp almond extract
~1 1/3 cup flour
~1/2 tsp baking powder
~1/2 tsp salt
~1/4 tsp baking soda
~2 TBS poppy seeds
~3.5oz of almond paste shredded (the one I bought came in a 7oz tube, so I used 1/2 the tube)

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix the egg, sugar, milk, sour cream, oil, and almond extract. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda. Add this dry mixture to the wet mixture until well blended. Then add in the shredded almond paste. Stir until evenly dispersed and then mix in the poppy seeds. Pour in greased muffin tin and bake for 15-20 minutes. The muffin tops will still be mostly white when done, but the sides in/near the muffin tin will be browned. Enjoy thoroughly…once it reaches your taste buds, you will be hard pressed to only eat one! 😉

Leave a Reply

