Date Nut Breads

The to-die-for Sticky Date Pudding has me on a date kick, so in the spirit, here is another date recipe. My teammate Lauren unearthed this recipe from over 10 years ago so I had to try it…old recipes are the best!!  In my naïve thinking I thought somehow after it baked I wouldn’t actually taste the coffee in the original recipe, but the coffee taste was very present.  Both of my roommates loved it with the coffee, but I thought it tasted like dirt (I am not a fan of coffee).  I was determined to try again so that I could actually give it a fair evaluation.  I did some research, altered the recipe a bit and loved it!  It is a very moist, delicious bread!  I am providing both recipes so you can choose depending on your preference.  Enjoy!

date nut breadCoffee Date Nut Bread
1 cup of hot coffee
1 cup (or more) of chopped dates
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 cup of sugar
1 tablespoon of butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1 ½ cups of flour
1 cup of chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 325.  Mix hot coffee, dates, and baking soda.  Let soak while preparing the rest of the bread (but do not let soak for more than 10 minutes).  Mix the remaining ingredients and then fold the coffee/date mixture into the remaining ingredients.  Pour into the pan and bake for 45-60 minutes.

Spiced Date Nut Bread
1 cup of hot water
1 cup (or more) of chopped dates
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 cup of sugar
1 tablespoon of butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla
3/4 cups of white flour
3/4 cups of wheat flour
1 cup of chopped walnuts
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of nutmeg
1/8-1/4 teaspoon of cloves

Preheat the oven to 325.  Mix hot water, dates, and baking soda.  Let soak while preparing the rest of the bread (can soak for up to 30 minutes).  Mix the remaining ingredients and then fold the water/date mixture into the remaining ingredients.  Pour into the pan and bake for 45-60 minutes.

Leave a Reply

